Lessons of Love

Last night I breastfed my son while I cooked. Yes. Cooking. Breastfeeding. Same time. Why? Because that’s what I do now: feed my baby, feed my man. Sometimes at the same time. This is my life and I love it.

I think about this blog often. I think about the parts of me and my life that I’ve shared. I think about the 40+ drafts that I started but never finished. I think about how much time I put into changing and customizing the theme on a blog that I barely use. But mostly I think about how much my life has changed, how much have changed, from when I first started this blog. It’s amazing the difference 5 years can make.

When I started I was in my mid-twenties, finally figuring out what it is to love myself. I had many setbacks, but I guess I learned all that God wanted me to learn about loving myself because then he gave me two other pe12068717_1208620305821387_1235914117348423205_o (2)ople to practice this whole love thing on. So that’s what I’ve been up to these days, learning lessons of love.

And not the feeling of love. There’s some of that, but one of the lessons has been operating in love without always having the feeling of it. Communicating, compromising, caring for and about others, whether I feel like it or not. I cook, I clean, I wash stuff (dishes, baby butts, occasionally clothes), for the sake of people that aren’t me! I mean, what is that?!  I’ll tell you what that is, it’s love. Bam.

By no means is this love thing easy, but the days when I get it right I grow more and more beautifully Bernadette.

“For you have been called to live in freedom, my brothers and sisters. But don’t use your freedom to satisfy your sinful nature. Instead, use your freedom to serve one another in love.”  – Galatians 5:13

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

