Taco Night Revamped

image

Last night I had a hankering for tacos. So I made a taco-fajita-salad type dish with homemade salsa and homemade sour “cream.”

I had a few beautiful red, yellow and green bell peppers I got from the farmer’s market on Sunday so I sautéed those with some onions and garlic, then added some re-hydrated TVP seasoned with paprika, chili pepper, cumin, oregano, onion powder, black pepper, Garlic & Herb Mrs. Dash and Fiesta Lime Mrs. Dash to act as my taco “meat.”

The salsa was made from some heirloom tomatoes I bought from Trader Joe’s. I added some red onions, jalapeño and chunks of avocado then squeezed in some lime juice. I wanted to add cilantro, but I didn’t have any off-hand and didn’t feel like making a trip to the grocery store.

The sour “cream” was made with cashews, water and lemon juice. I didn’t pay much attention to how much of each I used. I just threw some cashews in the blender, added a tiny bit of lemon juice and a little water then adjusted the amount of water and lemon juice as necessary. I was actually kinda surprised with how well it went with the dish. I initially only put a little on in case it was nasty, but ended up using a lot more than what’s in the picture.

After I finished everything, I just threw it all on some chopped up romaine lettuce and ate it as a salad. I must say, it was pretty darn good. It would have been better with some cilantro though. Oh well, next time.

One thought on “Taco Night Revamped

Leave a Reply

