A First For Everything

If I had to guess, I would say that most people reading this have never had Brussels sprouts. I hadn’t either, until today.

Tonight I made Creamy Cruciferous Risotto with Bulgur Wheat (instead of brown rice), a recipe that I found while searching FatFree Vegan Kitchen. I was looking for something quick that would use up the last of my cabbage. This was perfect because it was simple, fast and I had all the ingredients, including the Brussels sprouts.  I just happened to have some left over from my fast. You might be thinking, “wasn’t that a while ago?” Yes, it was. I guess Brussels sprouts keep well. They’re a cruciferous vegetable related to cabbage. The World’s Healthiest Foods website has a lot of good things to say about the health benefits of eating them. I guess that’s why some of my vegetable juice recipes included Brussels sprouts juice.

Anyhow, I knew when I came home from work there wouldn’t be a lot of time to cook because of my dance class tonight, but I didn’t want to wait till after getting back home because it would be a little too late to eat. I figured this would be something I could make before going to class. I was right. But what I didn’t account for was the time it would take to eat it. Sooooo…. I took it with me and ate it on my way to the class.

It was surprisingly good. I can see why Brussels sprouts have gotten a bad rap though. Their taste is very similar to cabbage, but stronger. Fortunately, I like cabbage so it worked out well for me!

Oh and for the sake of sharing here’s what I had for dessert when I got home. I wasn’t planning on having a dessert, but after I entered all my food in my online food diary I was 200 calories short so I decided to have banana and strawberries. I just bought 3 little baskets full of strawberries at the farmers market on Sunday so I’ve been adding strawberries to anything I can, cereal, salads, whatever. I thought banana and strawberry would be a great dessert. Who doesn’t love the combination of strawberries and bananas? I’ll tell you who, crazy people. That’s who.

4 thoughts on “A First For Everything

Leave a Reply

