Time to Get My Weight Loss On!

If you read my post about my goals for this year, you know that one of my goals is to lose some weight. I initially wrote 5 lbs, but I think I will shoot for 10 lbs instead. When I lost weight last April, my goal was 10 lbs and I reached a loss of 20 lbs, 5 of which I’ve regained. So initially I just wanted to lose the 5 lbs that I put back on, but I think I should aim a little higher this time.

My plan is simple:

  • Keep a weekly journal of my progress
  • Workout at least 3 times a week
  • Keep the calorie intake to about 1200 per day
  • Have consistent weigh-ins

That’s what I did before and it worked so I’m hoping that repeating the same process will yield favorable results.

I’m actually really glad that I did keep a journal. It’s nice to be able to go back and re-visit the successes and struggles that I faced, and overcame, while striving toward my goal. It was also nice to get comments here and there from people who had faced or were facing the same issues.

The working out piece is pretty obvious. If I’m trying to lose weight by burning fat, well then I gotta get to burning. In its simplest form, weight loss is a numbers game. One pound of fat provides about 3500 calories of energy (as related to food and weight). So the goal is to healthily create a difference of 3500 calories per each pound I want to lose. Cardio workouts burn lots of calories and strength training builds muscle, which burns more calories than fat.

The most important aspect to creating that calorie deficit is limiting the amount of calories I consume. This is why my goal is about 1200 calories a day. According to the references I’ve read, I likely burn about 1500 calories in a typical day, not including strenuous workouts. So if keep my calorie intake to about 1200, that’s a difference of 300 calories in one day. I wouldn’t want to go much lower than 1200 because I’d risk entering starvation mode. But at that rate I’d still lose a pound in about 12 days. So even if I didn’t want to do any exercise, if I just limit how much I eat I’d lose 5 lbs of fat in about 2 months (but I’m impatient so I will be exercising). Of course other factors come into play, what it is that I’m eating, metabolism and probably some other sciency stuff. But I’m not too worried about the other factors because I know that I have a healthy diet and I don’t have much direct control over any of those unknown factors, especially since they’re unknown (to me).

The last piece, the weigh-ins, is mainly to hold myself accountable. I weigh myself almost every morning (hey, the scale is right there), but when I have my weigh-ins, I will be posting my current weight so there’s more motivation for me to actually be making progress. And I found that it’s best to do it after the weekend so during the weekend I’ll be less tempted to not work out or binge cause I know my weigh-in is coming up.

So that’s my plan. Monday will be my first weigh-in. Pray for me!!!

(BTW:  if you’re interested in losing weight as well, let me know so we can do it together and encourage each other along the way. It helps!)

One thought on “Time to Get My Weight Loss On!

Leave a Reply

