Bloody Cabbage???

I failed photography in high school.

I know that has nothing to do with what I ate tonight, but I just wanted to point that out because I feel guilty sometimes for not having the photographic skills to make my food look like more than a blob. In this case, a red blob.

Okay, so with that said you may be wondering what the heck my red blob is. It’s cabbage… and stuff. Despite the lack luster picture, it was pretty good. I was quite proud of myself because I just threw this together after coming home from the gym starved. My parents used to make cabbage a lot when I was growing up, so this is basically a dish I’m pretty accustomed to, with a few additions. I bet you’re wondering why it’s red. It’s cause I added beet. 🙂 I had some beet root left over from my juice fast and I didn’t want it to go to waste so I added it.

Here’s everything that’s in there:

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

2 medium carrots, coarsely julienned

2 celery stalks, chopped,

1  beet, grated

1/4 head of cabbage, chopped

3 oz extra firm tofu, cubed

1/2 cup organic low-sodium vegetable broth

1 tbsp Bragg Liquid Aminos

Black Pepper

Garlic & Herb Mrs. Dash

Red pepper flakes

Dried parsley (don’t ask why, just felt like adding something else)

Putting it together was pretty simple and straight forward. I used an olive oil cooking spray to sauté the onions, carrots and celery. Then I added the beets and cooked a little longer, till it looked like the carrots were getting soft. Then I added the cabbage, tofu, veggie broth, the Liquid Aminos, and all the seasonings and cooked somewhere between 5 to 10 minutes, I wasn’t really paying attention to time. It was just long enough to cook the cabbage. Then I put it in a bowl and ate it (stopping halfway through to take a picture).

I’m trying to come up with a cute name for it, but…. I got nothing…. Oh well, I’ll just call it dinner.

Leave a Reply

