Faith, Food and Fasting

Today marks the end of my first week-long fast. Why was I fasting? Well, I’m glad you asked. As I have mentioned before, I recently came out of a period in my life that was very challenging and I needed cleansing on a physical, mental/emotional, and spiritual level. To me, the logical step was to fast.

Many people may equate fasting with starving yourself, but that isn’t what it is at all. There are countless sites and books that discuss the physical benefits of refraining from eating for short periods of time. Personally, I read Juicing, Fasting and Detoxing for Life by Cherie Calbom. This book talks about everything the name implies. I found it to be quite helpful.

But more importantly to me, fasting is a practice that, though not commanded in the Bible, is seen throughout the Bible. I truly believe in the same way God gave us the gift of the Sabbath as a means of rest and regeneration, He also provided fasting as a means to draw closer to him. Most of us are aware of the 40 days and 40 nights Jesus spent fasting in the wilderness, but the Bible records many incidents of fasting, both on an individual and national level. A good number of these references can be found on this site. I encourage you to take a look at the different areas in the Bible where fasting is discussed.

On a more personal level, my favorite woman of the Bible fasted:

“Go, gather together all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my attendants will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go to the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish.”

– Esther 4:16

You see, the fate of her people fell on her shoulders. Esther was Jewish and there was a decree to kill all the Jews in the land. She was safe because she was one of the king’s wives, but her uncle came to her and asked her to petition the king in order to spare her people. In going to the king, she faced death because when she went to him without being summoned he could have had her killed. But he didn’t. She found favor with him and he granted her request. I figure if fasting is what a woman as courageous as Esther did before risking her life, there’s gotta be something to it.

So throughout my fast, I spent plenty of time with the Lord, reading, praying, listening, crying. I used my Bible app to provide daily focus points as I fasted. I also read Get Healthy Through Detox and Fasting by Don Colbert, which also provided focus points and helped tie the spiritual and medical aspects of fasting together. I also found a wealth of information about fasting on FreedomYou.com.

If you’ve never fasted before, I encourage you to look into it. You may be thinking, “there’s no way I can go without food for a week.” That may be the case initially, so start small; start with one day. You’d be surprised at how easy it is once you stop focusing on eating and place your energy on something else, especially while on a vegetable juice fast, which is what I did (I’m not at the point where I’m okay with the idea of a water fast). Pray on it. The Spirit may lead you into a fast as he did Jesus.  Just a note though, plan to spend the first and the last day of however long a fast you decided to do alone. And when you break your fast, don’t go too far from a bathroom, trust me. Lol….

If you have any questions, I’d be happy to share my experiences with you. In the meantime, here are some pictures of some of the especially tasty juices I made throughout my fast:

The first thing I ate were three blood oranges I bought at the market the second day of my fast. When I saw them, I thought to myself, “as soon as I’m done, I’ma tear these oranges up!” And that’s exactly what I did. And I enjoyed them quite throughly. Yes. I. did.

2 thoughts on “Faith, Food and Fasting

  1. Pingback: Bloody Cabbage??? | Beautifully Bernadette

  2. Pingback: A First For Everything | Beautifully Bernadette

Leave a Reply

