Food and Friends

image

I love my friends, I love my food, why not combine the two?

For the past few weeks, a few of my girlfriends and I have been having our ladies night. This week it was my turn to host so since I love food, I wanted to cook something for them. What ended up happening was even better: we cooked everything together!

We made kale with tomatoes and falafel sandwiches. The kale recipe was one that I got on the Whole Foods Market website and wrote about a little while ago in this post. Calina, in the pink, was in charge of preparing the veggies and chopping the tomatoes (which she would have done faster if she could chop and talk at the same time).  Shawnte was in charge of the falafel. They came out really good (once I let her use more oil). We used a falafel recipe from Allrecipes.com, with just a couple alterations.  We replaced the bread crumbs with ground up oatmeal and replaced the egg with 1 tbsp of flaxseed meal combined with 2 tbsp of water. To get a good consistency for the falafel, we had to add more oatmeal than the amount of breadcrumbs the recipe called for, maybe about  1 1/2 cups, but I didn’t measure.

To top the meal off we had whole wheat pita bread, garlic hummus, both from Trader Joes, and sparkling cider.

Calina wasn’t thrilled with the falafel, but really like the kale. And Shawte really liked the falafel, so overall I’d say the meal came out good. More importantly though, we had a great time cooking together, so it was a great night!

2 thoughts on “Food and Friends

  1. Calina Hayes

    I love girls night! Even more, I love Bernie. She has been eating alot healthier for the past year or so, and this was the first time that I have eaten one of her adventurous meals. True, I didn’t like the falael but the Kale was delicious! I’m interested in trying other foods with her (as long as it doesn’t involve me cutting tomatoes and telling a GREAT story at the same time) and maybe eating a vegan dish once or twice a month!

Leave a Reply

