Search for a Church: Revisited, Part I

So a while ago I set out to find a church home in out here in SoCal. Considering the fact that there’s a church on every other corner out here, one would think that this would be a relatively easy task to complete. But for me, the number of different churches in the area makes finding one to join completely overwhelming. I can’t just walk into any ol’ church house and say “ok, I found one” and be done with it. I wouldn’t do that with a husband so why would I do it with a church? Some of my friends may remember when I tried finding one a little while back. I did join a church, but for a few reasons I stopped attending, so now I’m back at square one.

Well, I’m actually kinda past square one because I visited a church today that I really liked. I found it online and it was much closer than the last church I went to. I really enjoyed the service. I’ll definitely visit that church again.

I figure since I found the message relevant to my life, I’ll post my notes in case someone else finds it useful as well.

Pray Like Jesus Part 4: “Thy Will Be Done”

Matthew 6:10b

Three Dimensions of Intervention

  1. God’s will be done in OUR world
  2. God’s will be done in MY world
  3. God’s will be done in my LIFE

A. How is God’s will done in heaven?

If you study the angels, you find they do God’s will:

  • Unquestionably
  • Quickly
  • Consistently
  • Fully
  • Joyfully

B. Why is it hard for us to ask that God’s will be done?

  • We don’t want to give up control
  • We doubt that God’s will is the best
  • We know God’s will may involve suffering (ain’t that the truth!)
  • We know it means resistance against the status quo
  • Satan hates this prayer

C. What happens when we REALLY pray that God’s will be done?

  • We learn the power of obedience:  1 John 5:3,4 – “3 In fact, this is love for God: to keep his commands. And his commands are not burdensome, 4 for everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith.”
  • We invite the guidance of God:  Sometimes we aren’t sure what the will of God is for our lives, but the best way for us to find out is to follow His reveled will. That is, do what He has already commanded in His Word.
  • We discover the beauty of ‘nevertheless’:  Matthew 26:39 – “39 He went a little farther and fell on His face, and prayed, saying, “O My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as You will.‘” Praying for God’s will doesn’t mean we should deny our own will. We should still ask for what we want, but surrender our will to what God wants. (Even Jesus made his desire to NOT have to endure the cross known, but did so because it was God’s will).
  • We invite divine intervention:  We can and should claim the general promises (will) of God boldly, while humbly leaving room for His specific will
  • We trust our mysteries to His majesty:  Surrendering  our right to an explanation as to why God does what he does
  • We experience God’s promises: 1 John 1:10 – “10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”

” There are only two kinds of people in the end: those who say to God, ‘Thy will be done,’ and those to whom God says, in the end, ‘Thy will be done.'” – CS Lewis

One thought on “Search for a Church: Revisited, Part I

  1. Pingback: Search for a Church: Revisited, Part 2 | Beautifully Bernadette

Leave a Reply

