Pineapple Daze

Okay, so what do you get when you combine pineapple, red onions, cucumber, mint and lime juice? A quick, delicious lunch, that’s what you get! I know it sounds like a strange combination, but it tastes great, I promise.

I found the recipe on Whole Food’s website while searching for different dishes I can make with pineapple. I figure, since I’m going to Hawaii it would be great to eat some fresh pineapple while I’m out there. T minus 13 days!!!

Anyway, back to the recipe. It called for green onion, but I didn’t have any on hand so I just used diced red onion instead. And I had the not-so-bright idea to put the mixture into a pita. While it tasted good, it was a little too juicy and made the pita fall apart. It looked like a good idea though, didn’t it? No? Oh well, delicious lesson learned.

SWEET AND TANGY PINEAPPLE-CUCUMBER SALAD

Serves 4 to 6

Serve as a side dish or condiment. It is also delicious rolled into lettuce wraps.

Ingredients

3 cups chopped fresh pineapple
2 cucumbers, peeled, seeded and sliced
2 green onions, thinly sliced
1/4 cup roughly chopped mint
1/4 cup lime juice

Method

In a large bowl, gently toss all ingredients together and serve.

One thought on “Pineapple Daze

Leave a Reply

