Back to My Roots….

I love food. Anyone who knows me knows this. I love all types of food, Mexican, Chinese, Thai, Peruvian, Korean… You name it, I eat it.

One of my favorites though is Japanese food. So when my co-worker asked if anyone wanted to go to the Japanese market with him during lunch, I immediately jumped on the chance. This was my opportunity to get some ingredients to make a delicious Japanese dish. Only problem is I had very little idea how to make any Japanese dishes. I was very good at eating them, but had only tried cooking tempura – once.

I went onto Whole Foods’ website (they have a useful Food Guide that I reference from time to time) and looked up sea vegetables, since they are used widely in Japanese foods. While I was browsing, I saw the perfect recipe: Wakame, Broccoli and Mushroom Saute. So while I was at the market, I picked up a packet of wakame and a package of soba noodles, which are just noodles made from buckwheat flour, to serve with my sauté.

Ok, so it just occurred to me that you might be wondering what wakame (wha-ka-may) is. If you’ve ever had miso soup, it’s likely that you’ve had wakame. It’s seaweed!**Big smile**

When you buy it, it’s dried so you have to soak it in water for about 10 minutes to rehydrate it. Once it’s rehydrated, it can be added to soups, salads, sautés, etc.

Anyhow, here’s the final product (I’ll get my regular camera fixed one day, for now the phone camera will have to do).

I’m pretty happy with how it came out overall. I can’t wait to show my mommy! (She usually cooks Japanese food for me when I go home)

Here’s the recipe from Whole Foods:

WAKAME, MUSHROOM AND BROCCOLI SAUTÉ

Ingredients

1/2 cup dried wakame, dulse or arame, rinsed
3 teaspoons sesame oil
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 yellow onion, chopped
1 tablespoon tamari, divided  omitted (too much sodium)
1 cup broccoli florets
2 cups mushrooms, sliced
2 teaspoons kuzu, dissolved in 3 teaspoons water (optional)  omitted
1 1/2 tablespoons sesame seeds, toasted

Method

Put wakame into a bowl, cover with warm water and set aside until soft, about 15 minutes; drain well, cut into bite-size pieces and set aside. Heat sesame oil in medium skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and cook until golden. Add onions and cook until translucent, about 10 minutes. Add wakame and cook for about 5 minutes, adding a bit of water if needed to prevent sticking. Sprinkle with 2 teaspoons of the tamari and 3/4 cup water. Simmer, covered, for 15 minutes. Add broccoli, mushrooms, remaining 1 teaspoon tamari and 1/2 cup water. Simmer, covered, for 4 minutes, or until broccoli is bright and tender. Uncover and simmer for a few more minutes until thickened. If mixture needs to be thickened further, turn heat to low, add dissolved kuzu and stir until thickened. Serve over udon or soba noodles (that’s what I did) or brown rice and garnish with sesame seeds.

3 thoughts on “Back to My Roots….

Leave a Reply

