Indian Night

This was my dinner tonight. It was good.

Both dishes are Indian Dishes posted on Susan V’s Fat Free Vegan Kitchen recipe blog site. Have I ever mentioned that I love that site? If I haven’t, I’ll say it now: I love that site! I saw these two recipes while I was perusing the site a few days ago, decided to have an Indian night sometime this week and went out to buy all the ingredients.

I was especially excited about the okra dish because I’ve never eaten, not to mention cooked, okra before. From the picture on Susan’s site, the okra didn’t look all gooey like I’ve seen cooked okra look before. I must admit, I was a little worried while I was cutting up the little green guys cause the ooze was getting on the knife, but she had note about making sure to throughly dry the okra to keep it from getting slimy. So I did.

The preparation of the okra was fairly simple and straight forward.

Toast some cumin seeds, sauté some onion and garlic, add seasonings and okra and cook until browned. Boom, boom, blam. Bhindi Masala done.

The other dish, which is an eggplant and chickpea curry, was slightly more complicated. I had to cook, peel and cut the eggplant first and all the spices weren’t added simultaneously. But it wasn’t too bad.

After I got all the ingredients in the pan, I was able to get the kitchen cleaned while both dishes were cooking. That was an added bonus. Usually, I leave the kitchen looking like a tornado blew through it (one of the benefits of living alone).

I would post the recipes on here, but I think I’d be breaking some copyright rules or something. At the very least, I’d be going against Susan V’s request that they not be reposted. So go to her site so you can see the original recipes for yourselves. While you’re at it, browse around her site. She has a lot of great recipes that carnis and omnis alike would enjoy.

 

Bhindi Masala &  Eggplant and Chickpea Curry

2 thoughts on “Indian Night

  1. Hi Bernadette, thanks for your kind words about my site. I know what you mean about leaving the kitchen looking like a tornado hit. I don’t live alone, but I do that, too (mainly because my husband cleans it up.) Your meal looks delicious–hope you enjoyed it! And thanks for honoring my copyright request, too!

  2. Hi Susan! Thank you so much! The meal came out great. And thanks for taking a moment to comment! It’s nice to know I’m not the only one with the “messy cook” gene.

Leave a Reply

