Soup Season

Let me introduce you to tonight’s dinner: Ethiopian-Inspired Red Lentil Soup

Lately, I’ve been on a real soup kick. I printed out a buncha soup recipes from my girl SusanV at FatFree Vegan Kitchen that I wanted to try and bought all the ingredients I needed for the first couple soups. Or so I thought I did. I thought I had more red lentils than I actually had. I had plenty green lentils, but I knew that they take longer to cook so I thought to add split peas. I wasn’t very comfortable with this substitution, so after I added some split peas to my lentils, it occurred to me to use quinoa instead. It’s not necessarily “Ethiopian-Inspired,” but I knew that it would go pretty well. And it did. I’m glad I didn’t use too many split peas because they took a lot longer to cook too.  And I didn’t have each of the spices that the recipe called for, but I wasn’t too worried about that. I just added more of the spices I did have :-)

Overall it came out pretty good. Then again, it’s kinda hard to mess up soups. Maybe that’s why I like making them so much? At any rate, here’s the recipe:

Ethiopian-Inspired Red Lentil Soup

1 large onion, chopped
1 pound potatoes, cut into 1/2-inch chunks
1 + 1/4 cup red lentils (picked over and rinsed)
3 cups water
2 garlic cloves, chopped
2-3 tablespoons berberé spice mixture, below
1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 pound green beans, fresh or frozen, cut into bite-sized pieces
1-2 cups water
salt to taste
3-4 cups fresh spinach

Berberé Spice Mixture (mix all together and store in jar):

1 Tbs. ground cardamom
1 Tbs. ground coriander
1 Tbs. fenugreek
1 Tbs. ground nutmeg
1 Tbs. ground cloves
1 Tbs. ground allspice
1 Tbs. cinnamon
1 Tbs. paprika
1 Tbs. turmeric
1 tsp. cayenne (use more to taste)
1 Tbs. ground black pepper
1 Tbs. ground sea salt (optional)

Leave a Reply

