Friday Morning’s Food Fest

Have you ever had one of those days where you want to eat EVERYTHING? Friday was one of those mornings for me. I absolutely could not decide what I wanted to eat. My solution: eat it all. I was actually quite proud of myself because I came up with some original ideas as opposed to pulling everything off the internet. I started with this recipe as a base, then decided it needed some sort of vegetable so I added celery. Then I said to myself “I need some dark leafy green” so I grabbed some kale. Then I had a taste for something nutty and creamy so I grabbed some tahini (sesame seed butter).

I was originally planning on making something else that involved almonds so I already had some soaking and decided to use those as well. If you didn’t know, soaking nuts helps make them more digestible. Without soaking,they are pretty rough on our digestive system so it’s good to soak them for at least 6 hours. After I rinsed them and removed the skins I could even see the little sprouts. See?

Anyhow, after I had all this stuff out I spent a few minutes trying to decide if I wanted to make it all into a filling for collard wraps or for a burrito. I recently acquired some pretty good burrito wrapping skills so I’ve been making a bunch of burritos. But I liked the idea of having some collard wraps because I learned the right way to prepare them for wrapping. Since I was having trouble deciding between collard wraps and burritos I just made both.

For the burrito, I had some really good sprouted grain tortillas. I really like these because they don’t use any flour and are yeast free, which is good for us ladies. They’re from a company called Food for Life who has a line of all grain products they named Ezekiel 4:9 because they are made with the ingredients listed in that verse. I thought that was pretty nifty. The only thing is that the last time I made a fruit burrito with them it was kinda dry so I needed to have some sort of spread or something. Hmmmm…..

Then a light bulb went off in my head. “Why don’t I use the bananas and tahini to make a spread?” I thought to myself. Continuing this line of thinking I thought to add the kale to the bananas and tahini as well as some wheat bran and flaxseed.

So this is what I ended up with:

Filling

1 apple

1 pear

2 stalks of celery

1 oz soaked almonds

dash of vanilla extract


Spread

2 bananas

2 leaves of kale

2 tbsp tahini

1 tbsp flaxseed

1/2 cup wheat bran

a splash of water from soaked raisins


Other Ingredients

1/4 cup raisins soaked

1/4 cup rolled oats (I use Quaker oats)

2 collard green leaves

2 flourless tortillas

cinnamon

I took all the ingredients for the filling and chopped them up in the food processor. Then took all the ingredients for the spread and pureed them in the blender. To prepare the collard leaves for wrapping I just trimmed off the bottom part of the stems and sliced the stem part that’s on the actual leaf as is demonstrated by SusanV on her blog.

Once the spread and filling were done and the collards were prepared, I spooned some of the spread onto each leaf, then added the filling, then topped it with the rolled oats, soaked raisins and a dash of cinnamon. Then it was time to roll them. It was kinda funny cause I ended up with some HUGE rolls. I knew that I had too much stuff in there, but I’m pretty greedy so I didn’t really care. **chuckles**

Anyhow, once I finished the collard wraps I repeated the same process with the tortillas. I was a little more careful with how much stuff I put into the tortillas, just because I didn’t want them to completely fall apart. I must say, the final product turned out to be pretty tasty. Mmmmmm……

Leave a Reply

